back forward


Product Code: 024
Condition: New

More Information

Issue number 87 – Summer 2024.

On the front cover:

Roger Millward and Arthur Beetson – international captains.   

Features include:

Tributes to the greats: Lewis Jones, Bill Francis, Phil Lowe, Keith Barnes.

Swinton’s free spirit – the story of scrum-half Graham Williams.

Sprinters in Rugby League – Berwyn Jones and Alf Meakin.

Ian Hare – man of Dorset – talking to the Widnes and Great Britain winger.

So who’s running Rugby League these days? – Syd Scoops asks the questions.

John Etty’s personal record – memories from the Batley, Oldham and Wakefield star.

Steve Herbert – a vast contribution to Oldham, Barrow, Salford and more.

Terry Hollindrake – Keighley’s finest player and greatest hero.

Rod Tickle – remembering Leigh’s prolific try scorer on the wing.

Les Quirk – a top class winger so unlucky to miss international honours.

Keith Williams -from try-scoring winger at Halifax to the Vicar of Batley.

George Lunn – tribute to his great contribution to Blackpool Borough.

Widnes Champions in 1989 – the drama behind the scenes.

Neil Fox’s masterclass for Yorkshire in victory over the 1967 Australians.

Cumbria County always eager to play – some special fixtures remembered.

The pioneering tour of England in 1934 of Jean Galia’s French team.

Fantastic rare photos of the first match in Paris on New Years Eve 1933.

Tribute to Ian Heads – he guided a golden era for ‘Rugby League Week’.

Nines on prime time BBC television in 1988 as Rugby League boomed.

‘A’ team memories from Bradford, Oldham and Wigan.

Phil Lowe – the great second-rower in his last Ashes Test match.

Fartown on tour in France – Jeff Bawden meets Puig Aubert.

Wigan’s favourite championship title - with Brian McTigue in 1960.

Castleford and the Cup – John Joyner lifted the trophy in 1986.

The power of the press – Cyril Briggs, Brian Bevan and Warrington.

Albi won French Cup in 1974 – inspired by ex-Rochdale Hornet Joe Chamberlain.

Photo memories of Fartown in the rain; Brian Shaw’s record transfer from Hunslet to Leeds; and the tragic death of referee Laurie Thorpe during a Whitehaven v Barrow match on Christmas Day.

Team photos: Carlisle (1981); Featherstone Rovers (1957); Hunslet (1958); Keighley (circa 1959); Albi (1974).

Obituaries and tributes to: Lewis Jones; Bill Francis; John Etty; Phil Lowe; Chris Davidson; Bryan Taylor, Mark Moran; Clive Dickinson; Charlie Birdsall; Darryl Van de Velde; Keith Barnes; Ian Heads.



Customer Reviews

.ekm-card-logos-image {padding:2px;}Pay with PayPalPay with MastercardPay with VisaPay with Maestro/>
Pay with PayPal
Pay with Mastercard
Pay with Visa
Pay with Maestro