back forward


Issue 63 – Summer 2018

On the front cover:

Terry Clawson – one of the game’s great characters.

Features include:

  • Terry Clawson remembered by ex-Wakefield full-back Les Sheard.
  • The infamous Watersplash Wembley Final – 50 years on.
  • Welsh Codebreakers – a view from Wales you’ve never read before.
  • Maurice Bamford recalls the hardmen, including Jim Mills & Spanky McFarlane.
  • Hull’s best hookers – from Tommy Harris to Danny Houghton.
  • Scotsman Hugh Duffy as Salford took Rugby League to Old Trafford.
  • York and Bradford Northern in the 1978 Yorkshire Cup Final.
  • Featherstone Rovers in the special season of 1959-60.
  • The Constable Street youth team of Hull – Cup winners in 1963.
  • Wigan St.Patrick’s boys representing Great Britain.
  • When Blackpool Borough became the Milers.
  • Halifax and their Welsh full-backs – Garfield Owen, Ronnie James and more.
  • Jimmy Hoey of Widnes completing his history-making scoring record.
  • Jean Dop – the brave and crazy French star of the ’fifties.
  • ‘A’ Teams have a special place – starting with Leeds ‘A’ at Headingley.
  • Mike Elliott – a great Welsh winger for Oldham.
  • Joe Stewart – an unsung hero for Whitehaven and Cumbria county.
  • Swinton’s 1969 Lancashire Cup winners, Bob Fleet and Rodney Smith.
  • Remembering the greats of Warrington – Gerry Helme and Gerry Lowe.
  • Barefoot boys from Papua New Guinea – the 1966 tourists recalled.
  • When Swinton’s legendary secretary Vic Jones met ‘Mr.Manchester’ Tony Wilson.
  • Touchdowns by Ted Slevin (Wigan) and Gerry Round (Wakefield Trinity).
  • Whitehaven versus Oldham – a week before President Kennedy’s murder in 1963.

Team photos including: Hull K.R. (1985 Champions), Leigh (1974-75), Doncaster (1962) England (1980 at Narbonne), Huddersfield (1962 Cup semi-final team).

Obituaries and tributes to: Geoff Pimblett (St.Helens), Cliff Watson (St.Helens), Gerry Lowe (Warrington & Keighley), Les Pearce (Halifax & Wales), Gary Jordan (Featherstone), Brian Hatch (Hull K.R.), Roy Haggerty (St.Helens), Colin Battye (Castleford), Kevin Hansen & Wayne Gaskell (Warrington), Steve Folkes (Australia), Dave Callaghan (Yorkshire Sports broadcaster), Charlie Stone (Featherstone & Hull), Charles Galaup (French 1951 tourist), Jim Cartledge (Liverpool City), Percy Landsberg (St.Helens), Joey Lowe (Doncaster), Gerry Fairhurst (Wigan St.Patrick’s).



.ekm-card-logos-image {padding:2px;}Pay with PayPalPay with MastercardPay with VisaPay with Maestro/>
Pay with PayPal
Pay with Mastercard
Pay with Visa
Pay with Maestro