back forward


On Front cover:

Eric Ashton and David Bolton of Wigan.

Features include:
*Rugby League’s alternative look – the colours of the past.
*The Best of British Coaches – featuring: Peter Fox, Harry Street, Dave Cox, Bill Smith, Tommy Smales and Roy Francis.   
*When Frank Foster and Spanky McFarlane made their mark for Barrow at Salford.
*European Club Championship 1956-57 – leading historian Robert Gate remembers when Hull and Halifax took on the French leaders Albi and Carcassonne.
*Mick Morgan the Court Jester in the ranks of Rugby League. 
*Wembley 1985 – one of the greatest Cup Finals remembered. 
*Minnie Cotton of St.Helens, woman in a man’s world. 
*Albert Fearnley the inspirational figure of Rugby League coaching. 
*Billy Benyon – great player but never a Lion. 
*Laitia Ravouvou – a Fijian giant in Rochdale. 
*Jack Scattergood – Bradford Northern’s unlikely Yorkshire Cup winner. 
*When York said farewell to Clarence Street. 
*The Myler dynasty of Widnes. 
*When the Lions of Swinton had the coolest look in the ’sixties.
*Sheffield Eagles’ first and finest flyer – Daryl Powell.
*Cumbrian captains of Great Britain – featuring Brian Edgar. 
*Parry Gordon leading out the Wire at Wilderspool.
*Barrow’s Wembley regrets of 1957.
*Tom Webb’s ‘Rugby League Record’ – a hat-trick of issues.
*The first France v England international match in Paris in 1934. 
*When Mike Nicholas made his ‘A’ team debut for Warrington.
*Featherstone Rovers ‘A’ team winners in 1971-72 season. 
*The return of the Rugby League Record Keepers’ Club. 
*BARLA international team made history in Corsica in 1977. 
*Doncaster’s amateur pioneers. 
*Whitehaven’s Sevens winners in Scotland – more Jedburgh links. 
*How the 1982 ‘Invincibles’ Kangaroo tour began at Hull K.R. 
Team photos including: Swinton (1962), Bradford Northern (1964), Hull (1969), Wigan (1957), (Leigh 1972 Floodlit Trophy winners), Warrington ‘A’ (1972), Featherstone Rovers ‘A’ (1972). 
Obituaries and tributes to: Bill Ramsey, Joe Egan junior, Graham Joyce, Barry Simms, Ian Orum, George Simpson, Noel Kelly, Billy Smith, Terry Dolan, Alan Taylor, Tony Beevers, Ted Barnard, Colin Price, Keith Slater, Bal Numapo, Peter Bateson, Robert Orchard, John ‘Sooty’ Southward, Maurice Clark, Tommy Searle and others.  


.ekm-card-logos-image {padding:2px;}Pay with PayPalPay with MastercardPay with VisaPay with Maestro/>
Pay with PayPal
Pay with Mastercard
Pay with Visa
Pay with Maestro